Multicoloured Fortune Cookies

I’ve been told that I make very lame puns…so I decided to make puns and put them inside fortune cookies, haha.

IMG_4423

Fun fact: Fortune cookies did not originate from Asia. I’ve always wondered about this since I grew up in Asia, but never had fortune cookies until I traveled to the US. I was a kid back then, and I remember I almost ate the paper because I didn’t know there was something inside the cookie!

IMG_4418

I got the fortune cookie recipe from Fifteen Spatulas, and made some modifications. Instead of making regular fortune cookies, I decided to give them a little bit of natural colour by adding some cocoa powder, matcha powder, and beetroot powder.

IMG_4439IMG_4419

This was my first take on making homemade fortune cookies, and they turned out pretty good! Well, some of them turned out chewy, while the others turned out crispy. It does take some trial and error before you get the hang of folding the cookies, and it’s very time-consuming. However, I think they’re well worth making for special occasions 😛

IMG_4441

Happy Chinese New Year!

– Ricelessasian

IMG_4420IMG_4444

Multicoloured Fortune Cookies
Adapted from Fifteen Spatulas

Ingredients

1 batch of fortune cookie recipe from Fifteen Spatulas
½ tsp matcha powder
2 tsp cocoa powder
1 tsp beetroot powder* or any red food colouring of your choice
½ vanilla extract
Water (use if batter is too thick)

*I didn’t want to add too much beetroot powder because I didn’t want the cookies to start tasting like beets. I got a slightly pink colour with this amount. If you prefer an intense red colour, use food colouring instead.

Directions

  1. Make one batch of fortune cookie recipe batter, eliminating the vanilla and almond extract. Divide batter into four equal portions in separate bowls.
  2. Mix in the matcha powder, cocoa powder, beetroot powder, and vanilla extract with the separate bowls.
  3. Follow instructions from Fifteen Spatulas for folding the fortune cookies.

IMG_4410

4 thoughts on “Multicoloured Fortune Cookies

  1. Pingback: 5 Simple Ornaments for your next Chinese Dinner Party | Outiez Blog

  2. Pingback: 5 Simple Ornaments to Start Your Chinese Dinner Party | Outiez Blog

Leave a Reply

