DIY Basketweave Birthday Cake

Back to food blogging! August has been quite an eventful month for me, so I didn’t really have that much time to play around in the kitchen. Fortunately I had a free day on my birthday a few days ago, so I took the opportunity to bake myself a DIY birthday cake. I settled for a small chocolate cake dressed up as a basket case with flowers on top :).

IMG_0108IMG_0047

This was my first attempt of doing a basket weave cake design, and although it had a few flaws, I was pretty content with how it turned out for a first try :P.

IMG_0135IMG_0100

I used a Swiss meringue buttercream technique for the frosting, while I stuck with my go-to chocolate cake recipe from Add a Pinch.

IMG_0067-2
IMG_0024IMG_0221

The chocolate cake turned out pretty moist even after I refrigerated it, but I thought there was too much frosting for the amount of cake. Oh well, I’ll keep that in mind next time I make a cake :P.

Here’s a step by step demonstration in photos of how to make basket weave patterns:

collage

Keep repeating until you’ve gone all over the cake.

Hope you’re having a great summer!

– Ricelessasian

3 thoughts on “DIY Basketweave Birthday Cake

  1. Namrata

    What patience and creativity! I would love to have one big bite of this decadent awesome chocolaty cake but then again.. how do I cut up something so lovely!

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Our Year in Review (2014) | Underground Culinary Lab

Leave a Reply

